Taking a Break

DSCN6598

Sonja Erika Bertram (née Zeritsch) – I will miss you forever, Mummy. ❤

 

Dear Friends of 52 Weeks NG,

As you may know, my family and I are grieving the loss of my warm and vibrant Mom, Sonja Bertram.

DSCN6144

Birdhouse – photo by Sonja Bertram

Born in Austria, Mom moved to Canada with her parents when she was eight.  Her family settled in Ottawa and she became a fiercely patriotic Canadian.  When my brother and I were little, she and my Dad, Jim Bertram, moved from Gloucester, ON to a two-acre oasis in South Gower.  Over time, the wide open space grew populated with trees, a home-made swing set, and gardens of all kinds.

Mom loved living in Kemptville.  An unofficial tourism ambassador, Mom was always enthusiastic and generous about sharing hidden (and not-so-hidden) gems with visitors.  She was also a big fan of this blog and was probably the most prolific commenter of the bunch.  🙂

DSCN6076

Home, sweet home – Photo by Jim Bertram

Over the past week, we have received so many beautiful messages of love and support from our neighbours in NG.  To hear that Mom was important to so many people is a balm for my broken heart.

I will be taking a few months away from 52 Weeks NG but this passion project isn’t over!  🙂  Although I won’t be posting in this space, I will continue to collect stories and will be back in action with renewed energy on May 1.  Mark your calendars…check your inboxes!

With love and gratitude,

Erika.

DSCN6548

View from the family room window – Photo by Sonja Bertram

 

This entry was posted in News & Links and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking a Break

  1. Julie Greene says:

    Oh Erika, I’m so sorry about the loss of your mom. My heart breaks for you. Hugs, peace and love. Julie Greene, Public Health Agency

  2. Jeanne says:

    Dear Erika
    i am so sorry to hear of your loss. May God grant you peace along each step of your grieving through the healing balm of tears..
    Jeanne Lambert Graham
    Bishop’s Mills

  3. Elaine Bertram says:

    I’m so sad and, in vain, I keep wanting to call your mom to talk about it; I will miss her forever. I will never forget being the 9-year old flower girl when my beloved big brother Jim married his beautiful Sonja. From that day forward I had the most wonderful sister possible. Sonja truly brought light and happiness to our world.

Leave a Reply

