Meet the Candidate: Tim Sutton

It’s election season and the municipal campaign is in full swing!  I am pleased to present my Q&A series with our local candidates, and I hope it gives you a sense of who they are and what they stand for.  New profiles will go up every Tuesday and Thursday!

Election Day is October 27, and you can vote online or by telephone any time between October 20 at 10:00am and October 27 at 8:00pm.  Check the North Grenville website for more details!

Tim Sutton

Tim Sutton

52WeeksNG: What do you love about North Grenville?

Tim Sutton:  I love the small town charm of North Grenville. People move here to escape from the pace and closeness of the city, to be in a community where they can have close friends, enjoy the open spaces and relax and unwind. North Grenville is about family, it’s about living at your pace. North Grenville also has the unique position of being a regional shopping centre. With that you now have the combination of rural charm and urban amenities, which puts us on a whole other level from other communities in our area.

52WeeksNG: Can you share a hidden treasure in your corner of NG?

Tim Sutton: We have many “treasures” in North Grenville, and I don’t think that it’s fair to ask about just one! My choice is not a “hidden” to our residents, but I can tell you that for those who travel in to North Grenville, they cannot believe the quality and size of our soccer fields at South Gower Park. Few communities have such well-developed fields all in one place!

52WeeksNG: What are 3 – 5 issues that you would tackle if you were re-elected?

Tim Sutton:

  1. To continue with our economic development. We need to continue to work with both existing businesses and to attract new businesses to North Grenville. We also need to continue to expand our residential tax base as well. Having more people to share the load lightens the burden on all our tax payers.
  2. Work to make North Grenville economically self-sufficient. The province has cut our Operating Grant by over $400,000 over the past two years, and we expect them to continue to cut them. I would like to stay a step ahead of them in order to make sure that we do not have any surprises down the road. Continued growth as described above will assist with this goal.
  3. Work on implementation of our Trails Strategy and Riverside Park Strategy. Developing a safe, efficient trail strategy will provide residents with great benefits, from getting from point to point easier to riding to school, exercise or simply to enjoy the outdoors. I would also like to see us achieve status as a bicycle-friendly community.

52WeeksNG: Why is it important to vote in municipal elections?

Tim Sutton: It is important to vote in any election. Residents need to be engaged in what happens in their municipality and not just at election time. Being engaged helps let them know who the players are and will help make an informed decision when they cast their ballot

52WeeksNG: How do you like to spend your spare time?

Tim Sutton: Hmmm…spare time has been at a premium since being elected in 2006. What I can tell you is that politics is my hobby, so being a Councillor is more than a job to me. I spend a lot of my spare time reading and researching. But I love to spend as much time as I can with my daughters Katie and Alicia. I also love to travel and see what other communities have to offer.

52WeeksNG: What is one thing the people of NG might be surprised to learn about you?

Tim Sutton: I think that people may be surprised to know that I am named as a co-inventor in a patent for a line of fans that Canarm (my employer) developed back in the 1990’s. Variations of that fan are still in use and manufactured by Canarm today.

52WeeksNG: What would you like to say to the people of NG?

Tim Sutton: It has truly been an honour and privilege to serve on and represent you as a member of North Grenville Municipal Council for the past eight years.

I’m running again in 2014 because I remain enthusiastic about the potential for North Grenville.  It’s why I first ran in 2006 and, I’m happy to say, that two terms and eight years later, I haven’t lost any of that drive or enthusiasm. 

I came to Council in my first term in 2006 as an optimistic, can do candidate with a vision for what this municipality could be. We have accomplished many of the goals that I put forth in that campaign.

In 2010 I came forth with more ideas, and again many of those have been fulfilled over this past term. This year I put my name forward once again. I am just as bullish and enthusiastic – in fact I see even more potential for our community today and in the future.

It’s an exciting time for North Grenville, and I would like to help see our community reach its full potential – to be the best place to live, work and play in Eastern Ontario!

With two of our Councillors retiring it is important to have experience on the next council. That experience will be critical to help bring the new members up to speed. The first task of the new Council will be to tackle the 2015 Municipal Budget, and my experience and leadership will help us work through that process in an orderly manner.

I would like to take this time to ask you to place one of your four votes in the 2014 North Grenville Municipal election for me, Tim Sutton

For more information, you can check out Tim’s website!

This entry was posted in Meet the Candidates 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

