Meet the Candidate: Rhonda Finnerty

It’s election season and the municipal campaign is in full swing!  I am pleased to present my Q&A series with our local candidates, and I hope it gives you a sense of who they are and what they stand for.  New profiles will go up every Tuesday and Thursday!

Election Day is October 27, and you can vote online or by telephone any time between October 20 at 10:00am and October 27 at 8:00pm.  Check the North Grenville website for more details!

52WeeksNG: What do you love about North Grenville?

Rhonda Finnerty

Rhonda Finnerty

Rhonda Finnerty:  Growing up and educated in the Old Town Kemptville, with many friends on my street , I have many fond memories. I love the friendliness, the compassion, and how our families support each other in all aspects. We have many services to offer, great medical care and emergency responders. I’m blessed to have raised my family here and also to have all my families still residing in our community.

52WeeksNG: Can you share a hidden treasure in your corner of NG?

Rhonda Finnerty: I don’t believe I have any hidden treasure.  My treasure is my family and friends and home town.

52WeeksNG: What are 3 – 5 issues that you would tackle if you were elected?

Rhonda Finnerty:

  • To ensure that growth pays for itself though development charges
  • Affordable accommodations to allow our seniors economical living
  • Protect our assets and infrastructure
  • Attract business and maximize living to our downtown

52WeeksNG: Why is it important to vote in municipal elections?

Rhonda Finnerty: Voting is the one thing that is free in life.  You are given this right and it’s your that elects the persons of your choice to act as a voice for any issues facing your community.

52WeeksNG: How do you like to spend your spare time?

Rhonda Finnerty: In my spare time, I enjoy my cottage life, I play in a local baseball league, enjoy camping with family and friends, belong to the Kemptville snowmobile Klub, but most relaxing is reading and keeping up with our local events and issues.

52WeeksNG: What is one thing the people of NG might be surprised to learn about you?

Rhonda Finnerty: Over the years, many who have met me for the first time, later tell me I come across as a little stuck up — of course I find this amusing. I believe I’m shy at first, also. Possibly because I’m in the beauty industry and fussy about  my appearance.

52WeeksNG: What would you like to say to the people of NG?

Rhonda Finnerty:  I have been blessed to have grown up in a very loving family, with 3 sisters, and wonderful parents.  We were taught respect, manners, and family values. Being able to join sports, have many friends, we didn’t lack for much. After being educated in Old town Kemptville, I continued my education at Marvel beauty school in Ottawa. Gaining experience and confidence, I fulfilled my dream: to have a business in my hometown. I have owned and operated Rhonda’s Hairstyling for the past 23 years. I feel that I’m a people person.  My career has allowed me to meet people from many walks of life, to please, develop personal relationships, and true friendships. As a lifelong resident of North Grenville and as a business person, I have volunteered in the community, donated to many charities and events. I have a strong passion for North Grenville and have always been interested in our local politics. Given a chance to be your councillor, I will be your voice.

This entry was posted in Meet the Candidates 2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

