Week 24 – Kemptville Kinsmen Farmers’ Market

DSCF6929

Farmer Luke of Earth’s Harvest Farm

DSCF6940

View of the Market from Siam Kitchen

Every year around this time I turn into a Christmas bear. Despite the sunshine, blue skies, and blatant lack of snow, Christmas carols jingle their way into my head. I daydream about the hand-knit gifts that I want to make for everyone on my list. By the end of July I can practically taste the buttery cinnamon bread we bake for Christmas morning.

By August I’m firmly back in the present but for a few weeks in July, I’m bi-seasonal. Until recently, I thought I was alone.

I was wrong.

DSCF6944

This super-friendly fellow at The Branch’s stall serves up a mean brisket!

On Sunday, July 27, the weekly Kemptville Kinsmen Farmers’ Market is holding its Christmas in July event. You can start your Christmas shopping, have a chat with Santa Claus (!!!), and stick around for a little lunch.

I was so excited by this idea that I couldn’t wait to do my research. On Sunday, I went to the Farmers’ Market armed with a fistful of dollars and a hankering for a hefty dose of local goodness. I spoke with some of the seasonal vendors and walked away with lunch for the fam.

This is what I discovered.

Purely Elemental

DSCF6920

Purely Elemental sells handmade soaps, bath & beauty products, and jewellery.

My first stop was to visit Purely Elemental to check out the selection of handmade soaps and jewellery.  I asked Candice about the soap and, with sparkling eyes and a friendly smile, she explained that it’s made from natural goat’s milk and infused with essential oils so it’s gentle on the skin.  Candice had five soaps for sale and I bought the Dryad soap, which was wrapped in purple ribbon with a gray wax seal.

I tried the soap the next day.  The subtle scent evokes the forest — earthy and somewhat musky — and there’s also a mint-like undertone that keeps it light.  The soap left no residue, even with our hard water, which was a treat!  The bar did start to shrink when exposed to shower water over the week, but we fixed that by moving it so it is no longer in the direct shower stream

Earth’s Harvest Farm

DSCF6924

Earth’s Harvest Farm’s 7-Herb Bouquet.

The Earth’s Harvest Farm uses the principles and philosophy of New Zealand and British farming practices to produce the most “domestically wild” grass-fed, {uncertified} organic meats and heirloom produce.

This farm is run by Luke and Liza, a team of dynamos that has a lot to offer at the Market, the farm, and on the web.  At the Farmers’ Market, they sell frozen chicken quarters, and you can pre-order whole chickens, lamb, and turkeys for Thanksgiving.  Liza makes a variety of farm-to-fork products like chicken jerky, mayonnaise, pesto, and seasonal soups.  She also writes an addictive, stream of consciousness blog!

DSCF6926

Earth’s Harvest Farm’s chicken jerky.

I bought a beautiful bouquet of herbs, which comes with a helpful booklet that identifies each herb and makes suggestions for using them.  This week, I used the purple basil in a radiatore dish and the tarragon, garlic chives, and parsley in a frittata this week…with delicious results.  I also bought a cute sticker for Matteo and some amazing chicken jerky.

When Luke and I were talking, I asked him for tips on getting the most bang for your Farmers’ Market buck.  He recommends buying the most basic ingredients – like a whole chicken or a bunch of kale – fresh and preparing them at home, “like your grandparents did”.  For those, like me, who have never had farm-fresh chicken, Luke says once you taste it, you’ll notice the difference.  Mark Bittman’s idea of using meat as a condiment {or better yet: as a treasure}, came to mind as a strategy I’d like to explore more in order to stretch the budget while exploring the world of fresh and local ingredients.

DSCF6927

Earth’s Harvest Farm has a variety of witty stickers for sale.

Siam Kitchen

DSCF6931

It took Duan {above} about an hour to carve that cantaloupe

Who’s hungry?  I was ready to get serious about lunch so I popped in to Siam Kitchen, which is run by Duan and Rick Moore.  Duan makes an enticing array of fresh Thai food and provides meticulous ingredient labels for every dish.  She is also very skilled at carving fruit and crafted a lovely display at the stall.

It was difficult to narrow down my options.  So I didn’t.  I ordered a serving of pad thai, fresh and zingy mango salad, and a delicately-sweet fried banana.

While I was taking photos of the booth, a gentleman came and ordered 12 spring rolls.  A few minutes later when I was settling my bill, he returned to order more to take home with him.

A note on the pad thai – it may be the nicest version of the dish I’ve ever had!  Duan’s dish was light, faintly sweet and distinctly tangy…also, I suspect, highly addictive!  Next time, I’m going to try the spring rolls and samosas too!

DSCF6936

Siam Kitchen’s spring rolls {left} and samosas {right}.

The Branch

DSCF6945

The Branch’s Market menu.

To round out lunch, I stopped by The Branch, where I put Mark Bittman’s philosophy on hold.  The smoky smell of the brisket filled the Market air and is a popular draw for hungry shoppers and vendors alike.  Bruce explains that brisket needs 16 hours to cook, so it’s not something you can easily make at home.  At the Market, you can pick up brisket by the pound for a quick and easy Sunday dinner or order a sandwich.

I, like many others I saw, bought a brisket sandwich, that was hearty and smoky, and was served with coleslaw with a vinegar-based dressing.  A big hit with the family, next time I’m going to order two!!

Mister Lemonade

DSCF6953

Getting started on those 2,260 lemons!

On may way out of the Market, I stopped in to the Mister Lemonade stall to buy a jug of their fresh lemonade.

The couple that run Mister Lemonade hand squeeze every lemon; for big events like the Spencerville Stampede, that means squeezing 2,260 lemons!

The lemonade was sweet and refreshing – just right served over ice.

The Grateful Bread

DSCF6957

Denise of the Grateful Bread bakery, and her delicious treats.

My last stop was to see Denise at The Grateful Bread bakery to thank her for introducing me to the vendors for this post {thanks Denise!!}.

I was not expecting cookies.  But Denise gave me some to bring home to Matteo and Leona.  Wow…they were good!  Big, chewy, and not too sweet, those chocolate chip cookies will certainly have us coming back for more!

 So that’s it!

Now in its’ eight year of operation, the Kemptville Farmers’ Market is like having a festival in your backyard every Sunday.  There’s often live music, a sprinkler zone for the kids, and lots of local vendors to talk to.  While I was there, I bumped into some friends and neighbours and met some pretty sweet canine shoppers.  Maybe this week, I’ll see you!!

The Kemptville Kinsmen Farmers’ Market

200 Sanders St., Kemptville, ON K0G 1J0

Sundays: 12:00 pm – 4:00 pm

June – Thanksgiving

Website

Facebook

info@kemptvillefarmersmarket.ca

1-855-225-9001

 

DSCF6917

Purely Elemental’s bath, beauty, and jewellery.

This entry was posted in Food & Drink, Free, Health & Wellness, Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week 24 – Kemptville Kinsmen Farmers’ Market

  1. ktownblog says:

    Thank you for this post! One of the many reasons we love living in Kemptville 🙂

  2. S. Bertram says:

    Yes….you will see me there this coming Sunday 🙂

  3. Jim Bertram says:

    Great advertising.

  4. Pingback: Week 25: Earth’s Harvest Farm | 52weeksng

Leave a Reply

