Week 20 – Home Hardware

DSCF6516When I was nine or ten, my Mom took me to Home Hardware to choose a new toy after being brave at the doctor’s office.  As I stared up at the wall of toys, rubbing the Band-Aid that covered where the nurse stuck the needle, a canary yellow yo-yo caught my eye.  It was a simple toy but I loved it.  I’ve never forgotten that moment.

DSCF6508A few months ago I was back at Home Hardware – this time because I had seen a Panini press in the window that I wanted to buy my Mom for her birthday.  As I made my way through the store, I came across the toy wall – exactly where I remembered it, but stocked with the toys of a new generation.

Kemptville’s Home Hardware has been in the Hamilton family for nearly 50 years.  Owner-operator Blair Hamilton took the reins when he was 23 after earning his BA in Economics and Law from Carleton University.  Blair’s love for the community drew him back to Kemptville and he hasn’t looked back.

Our Home Hardware is a traditional hardware store.  They sell plumbing, electrical, paint, kitchen supplies, fasteners, and seasonal items.  The cool thing is, as Blair explained to me, he can order anything from the Home Hardware warehouse, which holds over 60,000 items.  Customers can also place orders online and have the items shipped to the store.

DSCF6512Blair is an immensely likeable and genuine man who’s easy to talk to.  During our interview, customers would come up to say a quick “hello”, and he’d always smile back and wave.  He tells me he was drawn to the Home Hardware culture because the company is a long lasting business without much turnaround in upper management.  Blair knows all of the truck drivers, building friendships with them that span decades, just like the customers Blair has known his entire life.

With so much continuity, it’s possible to assume that newcomers might have trouble feeling welcome.  Not so at Kemptville’s Home Hardware.  “There’s always room for new faces,” says Blair, before noting that it doesn’t take long for newcomers to become regulars.

DSCF6514Just as Blair takes care to get to know his customers, he and his staff meticulously and methodically learn about the products they carry.  He ensures the store is well-stocked and able to meet his customer’s needs.  To my surprise, Home Hardware carries a large selection of gourmet kitchenware, which Blair says is one of the most popular sections of the store.  I limit myself to buying a water bottle with a basket that holds fruit {hello orange-infused water!!} and a pantry shelf organizer, but I know I’ll be back to linger among the mason jar mugs, the waffle makers, and other gadgets.

And I know that when I do, I’ll be warmly greeted by Blair – our friendly, neighbourhood handyman.

Kemptville Home Hardware

301 Prescott St., Kemptville, ON K0G 1J0

613-258-3520

http://www.homehardware.ca

Store Hours

Monday – Saturday: 8:30 am – 5:30 pm

Sunday: 11:00 am – 3:00pm

DSCF6554

A colourful wall of paint chips.

This entry was posted in Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 20 – Home Hardware

  1. Wagner says:

    What a great post! I too have fond memories of visiting my local home hardware when I was young! Glowing report Erika – I’ll be sure to check out kemptville’s home hardware if I’m in the neighbourhood!

  2. Sonja Bertram says:

    I always find exactly what I’m looking for when shopping at Blair’s Home Hardware, wether it is two specialty hinges, which he packages up or a beautiful cherry red toaster…I love the shop.

  3. Pingback: Week 23 – Community Connections Centre | 52weeksng

Leave a Reply

