Week 17 – Array Hair Studio

DSCF6416

Last month I was pleased to be asked to share my tips on writing a sparkling website biography with an audience of local business people at the BR+E Alliance Business Planning seminar.

DSCF6435

Walk-ins are welcome; appointments are recommended.

The only problem?  My hair was looking a little “mullet-y” after a long winter and no time for a trim.  Since moving to Kemptville two years ago, I had been traveling back to Ottawa for haircuts but that was proving less and less practical after Leona was born.  I asked around about local salons and my sister-in-law Robin recommended the Array Hair Studio.  One look at Robin’s fresh bob with golden highlights and I was dialing Array to book an appointment.

It did not disappoint.

As I walked through the doors, I was greeted with high ceilings with a gorgeous tin finish, an airy design, and a warm smile from Sydney, my soon-to-be stylist.

DSCF6423

Sydney – living her dream.

It was Sydney’s lifelong dream to open a salon, and in 2013 she made that dream come true with her mother Shari, also a stylist with 27 years of experience.  Sydney is friendly, confident, and has a keen sense of fun, which makes it a blast to work with her.  She has a great sense of style and wears the heck out of her MAC Viva Glam lipstick.

I asked Sydney to shape my asymmetrical cut and add a blonde steak on the left.  She didn’t bat an eye…in fact, she took on my request with a sense of adventure and a desire to make it perfect.  She totally *got* me and what I was asking for.

As I waited for the colour to set, I noticed that the woman beside me was working on her smartphone.  “Free wi-fi,” she said to me with a smile.  I chose to unplug and leaf through magazines and just breathe in the relaxing vibe.

DSCF6426

P-P-P-Products! {Which you can now afford, since you saved so much on your cut!!!}

Since we’re talking about wi-fi, I have to say that the Array Facebook page is one of the best I’ve seen.  It’s always up to date with fresh content including…wait for it…Before & After photos!  You can book your appointment, check the pricing guide, and you might even see me on the wall {cough-scroll to March 19-cough}.

Sydney and I chatted as she trimmed my hair.  “I love talking to my clients,” she said between snips.  “I love hearing what people see and do.  Learning about their relationships and travels.”  Before she got out the hair dryer, Sydney emphasized that if the colour wasn’t blonde enough, I should let her know and she’d get to the exact shade of “Gwen Stefani blonde” that I was after.  “If someone isn’t 100% happy with their cut, I prefer that they let me know so I can fix it,” she said with a smile.

Guess what?  I was 100% satisfied.  And if it’s mathematically possible, I was 125% satisfied after I got the bill, because it was half of what I would have paid in Ottawa.

I went to the BR+E seminar feeling confident and ready to rock, thanks to Sydney and her superstar style skills.

{Ps: If you missed the presentation but want in on the DIY web bio worksheet, it’s available here on the BR+E Alliance website.}

Array Hair Studio

201 Prescott St., Kemptville, ON K0G 1J0

(613) 258-7171

arrayhairstudio@gmail.com

https://www.facebook.com/ARRAYHAIRSTUDIO/

Hours:

Tuesday – Wednesday: 9:00 am – 5:30 pm

Thursday: 11:00 am – 8:30 pm

Friday: 9:00 am – 5:30 pm

Saturday: 9:00 am – 4:00 pm

Sunday – Monday: Closed

Walk-ins are welcome but I recommend calling ahead.  🙂

 

DSCF6438

This entry was posted in Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 17 – Array Hair Studio

  1. Barb Sherman says:

    Erica, do we have a before and after photo? Barb

  2. Pingback: The Cut & Colour | 52weeksng

Leave a Reply

