Week 9: To Be Continued

DSCF6078

I’ve discovered something that Matteo and Leona have in common – and I bet the kids in your life share this trait – they grow quickly.  Sometimes I swear a shirt or a onesie that fits on Monday can tight by Friday.  Or even worse – those one piece pajamas.  In the time it takes to fasten the snaps all the way down from the collar to the toes, the seams start to strain and suddenly {not unlike the Incredible Hulk} baby bursts out of those cute little PJs.  Okay…maybe I’m exaggerating a little but seriously, finding high quality, reasonably priced clothes for kids is one of my missions.

DSCF6081

TBC accepts 200 – 300 new items every day!

And judging by the success of Kemptville’s To Be Continued (TBC) consignment shop, I’m not the only one with that mission!

TBC has been in Kemptville for 10 years, and it’s been 5 years since owner Shelley Mitchell has been at the helm.  She was attracted both to the flexibility of being her own boss and to the principle behind consignment – reducing, reusing, and recycling the clothes that kids wear through so quickly.  “To Be Continued lets me be a parent to my girls, work, and be involved in the community,” says Shelley.

DSCF6109

Birthday gift ideas for under $7.00? Yes, please!!

As a member of the Old Town Kemptville Business Improvement Area (BIA), Shelley works with other business owners to put on events like the Easter Bunny Hop, Pirates Day, Creepy Kemptville, and Old Town Christmas.  They also support local events like the Dandelion Festival and the Santa Claus parade.  Shelley’s email newsletter is a bright and cheerful combination of store and community news.

TBC’s racks are well-stocked with clothing for women and children.  “We accept 200 – 300 pieces every day,” says Shelley.  Last year, the maternity section was my favourite, with brands that I couldn’t find anywhere else, like Gap Maternity.  Along with clothing, TBC also sells shoes, bags, new and gently used toys and books.  Shelley also stocks new educational toys and arts & crafts supplies, as well as products made by local entrepreneurs.

DSCF6085

Check out this super cute tie – handcrafted here in Kemptville.

During my visit, I bought a book on sleep training and an amber teething necklace.  Shelley and I chatted easily about our children and experiences raising them.  Our conversation was a ray of sunshine in a snowbound week of car batteries dying and infant teething – another reason to visit TBC!

Late last year I set up my consigner account with TBC and I was surprised at how easy it is!  The instructions are available on the TBC website – just bear in mind that drop offs are not accepted on Sundays.  The clothing is displayed for 60 days and any  items that do not sell can be picked up or TBC will donate them to charity.

DSCF6087

“Often when I’m sorting through new arrivals, I come across a piece that just makes me smile.” – Shelley Mitchell.

One last note before I sign off for this week – Shelley told me that she will be unveiling some exciting news at the end of winter.  I *tried* to get a clue but Shelley’s lips are zipped, so visit the TBC website, sign up for the email list, or check the TBC Facebook page for the big surprise!

{Edited on October 3 – Shelley’s big surprise is a move from Prescott St. to Sanders St.!  The store’s current address is listed below}

To Be Continued

207 Sanders St., Kemptville, ON K0G 1J0

613-258-0166

http://www.tbcconsign.com

https://www.facebook.com/pages/To-Be-Continued-Consignment-Shop/154797654635646

Store Hours

Monday – Friday 10:00 am – 5:30 pm

Saturday 10:00 am – 5:00 pm

Sunday 11:00 am – 4:00 pm

DSCF6083

TBC is bedecked with colourful, locally made tutus.

This entry was posted in Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 9: To Be Continued

  1. sonja says:

    ooooh I wonder what Shelley’s big news is….can’t wait…it is a great store that I visit often…..

  2. Pingback: March News & Links | 52weeksng

Leave a Reply

