Week 7: Designer Consignor

DSCF5580

These boots were made for walking…into your life!

By the time Leona was born at the end of August, I was so tired of maternity clothes.  I have a wicker basket in my closet where I store my off-season clothes.  No matter how hot it was outside, every week, I would pull on a sweater and my pre-baby jeans to see if they fit yet.

DSCF5615

The Bounty.

Months went by and I started seeing some progress.  To celebrate, I took four of my favourite sweaters out to wash.  In my wisdom {read: addled mama brain}, I put them in a plastic bag, which I left beside some other plastic bags full of clothes that were destined for the Salvation Army.

Can you guess what happened?

Of course I donated my sweaters along with everything else and was left with nothing to wear…just as the temperature plummeted and I desperately  needed something.

Lucky for me, Designer Consignor came to my rescue!  Although I had walked past the shop a few times to admire the window (that sequin dress!) and speculated with Martia at Going Global about what the shop might hold, I had never been inside.

DSCF5590

Designer Consignor also sells jewellery, purses, shoes, and accessories.

With a sartorial emergency on my hands, I wasted no more time.  And you shouldn’t either!

As soon as I walked in, I was greeted warmly by Lindy, one of two staff members.  She explained the layout of the store and gave me space to explore.  I browsed the racks and brought two armloads full of clothes to the back to try on.

Owner Bev Sims tells me that she inspects every piece that comes in to ensure that it’s top quality.  She loves chatting with customers and helping them find the perfect outfit, whether casual or high fashion.  Looking through her stock, I see labels like Abercrombie & Fitch, Banana Republic, Bench, Coach, Guess, Lands End, Lord & Taylor, Marc Jacobs, Mexx, Simon Chang, and many more.  Most items are gently used, but some still have their original tags.  Bev also snags deals online and scouts for merchandise on trips to cities like Calgary (cowboy boots!) and Las Vegas (jewellery!).

DSCF5600Lindy says that customers of all ages come in from Kemptville, Brockville, Ottawa, and the surrounding area – and I can see why.  After my marathon in the dressing room, I’ve chosen four shirts (two with original tags), a knit tunic, and a pair of jeans.  I haven’t even let myself look at the accessories or the shoes!  On my way to the cash, I pick up a pair of earrings to gift to my Oma.  Can you guess how much my bounty cost?

$150.

Amazing.

Race you there!

Designer Consigner

148 Prescott St., Kemptville, ON K0G 1J0

http://www.designerconsignor.ca/

613-258-6623

Store Hours:

Monday: 12:00 pm – 7:00 pm

Tuesday – Friday: 10:00 am – 7:00 pm

Saturday: 10:00 am – 4:00 pm

Sunday: Closed

DSCF5593

This entry was posted in Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 7: Designer Consignor

  1. Jim Bertram says:

    Wow – great story . That could EASILY happen.

  2. Eva Schausberger says:

    Awesome!

    Sent from Android Mobi

  3. Pingback: The Cut & Colour | 52weeksng

Leave a Reply

